Turning Life Experiences into Teaching Opportunities

I have always been a passionate advocate for immigrants and people with disadvantages.  As an immigrant myself, I wanted to share my own experiences and help others through my own life’s lessons.  My passion is to work with people who have had similar experiences & obstacles in life. My own struggles have made me aware of the many challenges that others face.

single mom One of the obstacles I have had to overcome is the fear of being a single parent.  I have 2 beautiful children and when faced with the reality of raising them alone, it was then that I found my “inner self”.  Finding courage meant believing in my ability to be a great mother, a strong woman and good provider.  Since becoming a mother, I feel that my eyes have been opened to an entirely new way of learning through the eyes of my children.

During my own personal struggles, I learned how to “reach out” and work with local resources to help myself and my family.  It is now that I can share what I’ve learned with the parents and families of this community.  Many of the families that come to the Kearns Community Learning Center struggle with learning a new language. My bilingual skills have afforded me the luxury of being able to communicate with these Latino families. 

Since I have walked in their shoes, I understand the day to day frustrations they may face:

  • a new language
  • working long hours to provide for their families
  • learning how to be a better parent
  • learning how to listen to their children
  • learning to work through the difficulties of family dynamics 

It has been through my own experiences, that I can, with confidence say, “It is never too late to learn something new”.  It is with this attitude that I look forward to working with many new families and helping them through their day to day struggles and successes.

About belkisha

Hello ! Welcome to my "Blog"... My name is Belkis Moronta. I am currently a Youth / Parent Liaison working with youth services at Kearns Jr. High Community Learning Center and their ASP team. I was born and raised in Venezuela. Over the last ten years, I have been working as an advocate for the families in the local community.
This entry was posted in After School Program. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

