I Make a Difference Contest Accepting Entries

I Make a Difference award winner at the Open House in 2011

In a quiet, simple way and sometimes in a big, lifechanging way, young people are making a positive difference in their families, with friends and in their communities. But how often do you hear about it?

Youth Services wants to give you a chance to tell your story! Our 3rd annual “I Make a Difference” contest is taking entries now through the end of April. Enter to win an iPod and to get a chance to meet and be honored by Salt Lake County Mayor Peter Corroon.

How do I enter?

The rules are simple. Youth ages 12 to 21 can upload entries now through April 30 on our Facebook page under the I Make a Difference 2012 Application. They can also be emailed to youthservices@slco.org or dropped off at Youth Services, 177 W Price Ave (3610 South) in Salt Lake City, UT.

Facebook voting will then determine the top three entries in each category:

  • See Me: art, photos, sculptures
  • Hear Me: video, music, audio files
  • Know Me: short stories, essays, poems

The I Make a Difference committee will determine the final winners of each category. They will each win a free iPod shuffle and a certificate will be awarded by Mayor Corroon at an exhibit at the Salt Lake City Library on May 21, 2012 at 6 pm. All entries will be displayed in the I Make a Difference exhibit throughout the month of May.

Still have questions? Post them here and we’ll get you answers right away!

About Tammy Champo

Youth Services became my second home six years ago as I ventured into the social services world. As the Public Relations and Communications Coordinator, I manage the online and offline communications materials, organize special events and coordinate volunteers and donations. In my "free" time, I enjoy singing/songwriting, snowboarding and swimming.
This entry was posted in Safe Place, SLCO and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

