My dad is special, is yours? (Facebook Contest)

With Father’s Day coming up, my dad is on my mind. Growing up my dad could do it all. He was a Search and Rescue expert for the US Air Force and rescued many a serviceman during the Vietnam war. He even volunteered to help with rescues of ordinary citizens who got themselves into exceptionally life threatening circumstances and horrible accidents. My dad survived many life threatening experiences to save others. He never needed thanks for saving so many lives, but all the people he saved will never forget his calming and reassuring manner when they were terrified that they were stuck beyond help and he talked them through to safety.

Many serviceman say my dad is a legend in the Air Force. He knows so much about survival that he even sewed up the gash in his leg from a machete using fishing line and no anesthetic right before my AMAZED eyes! So not only did he set the supreme example to me of how to be a humanitarian, but he was the coolest dad to have fun with.

He taught me how to paint, how to create the best jungle gym in our back yard, how to hike up a mountain in Alaska, how to make German pancakes with lots of butter, how to treat your friends like family, how to make a survival tent with random materials, how to be resilient during tough times, how to shake off bad experiences in life and appreciate the small everyday things that you could take for granted and shouldn’t, how to polish off your work to create exceptional outcomes, how to have a sense of humor at yourself and never at anyone else’s expense, how to give generously, and how to tell a good story so that people light up with glee.

Why My Dad is Special – Facebook Contest

I know I’m not alone in thinking my dad is superman. To celebrate this coming Father’s Day, the Children’s Justice Center of Salt Lake County is hosting a Father’s Day Facebook Contest for a chance to win a steak dinner with your dad at Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse.

Entering is easy. Just submit a short story on the CJC Facebook page about why your dad is special and why you love him, next have all of your friends and family members “Like” your story. The story with the most “Likes” at the end of the contest will win a $75 gift card to Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse.

Contest entries and voting ends at 5 p.m. on Friday, June 15th. All ages are eligible for entry. Please keep content appropriate. For submissions, please visit www.tinyurl.com/slcjcfb

Want to share how your dad makes a difference in your life? Share your thoughts here too!

The Children’s Justice Center of Salt Lake County Youth Services is an award-winning program that serves over 1,5000 a year to empower children who are victims of sexual abuse, physical abuse or other crimes to speak out and shatter the silence. The center provides a safe and family-friendly environment for children and teens where they receive coordinated services during the investigative process so healing can begin.

About slcjc

Hi! I work at the Children's Justice Center and love my job. It is great to make a difference every day. I was a therapist before I came to the Children's Justice Center and worked in hospitals, juvenile detention, and shelter care programs. Teens are my favorite age group because they are fun and tell it like it is. I have 2 amazing kids, a cool dog and 2 lazy cats. I am always up for an adventure and love to see the world. It matters to me that kids are safe, protected and supported to become who they were meant to be in life! Seize the day and make it your own!
This entry was posted in Parenting Tips, SLCO and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

