Rise and Shout! I’m Coming Out

LGBTpostWritten by a 15 year old Peer Mentor at Youth Services

Coming out is hard. Although it’s portrayed as a one-time statement that everyone can hear. However, much like all good things coming out takes patience and time. Coming out is like letting down a wall to those around you. It feels as if you’re finally taking off the mask and being who you are. When you come out though, people tend to only see you as what you define your sexuality as.

When I was 15, I came out to my mom, and a few of my friends. At first everything was good and life continued moving forward. My friends accidently told people about my “coming out” and people started treating me differently. Girls acted as if they would become gay if I gave them a hug or even engaged in a conversation with them. Guys acted like I could help them get girls and give them advice about how to ask a girl out. I knew people were going to be different, but I didn’t know that I feel like someone’s disease or someone’s wingman.

People didn’t quite yet grasp the fact that I liked girls, but that was only ONE piece to my infinitely complicated puzzle. People are still having trouble understanding that my sexuality doesn’t define me. I fully understand that it’s still pretty surprising to find out someone you know is any part of the LGBT+ community and I know it will take time for people to understand.

Everyone I have personally come out to was more than supportive of me. People who happened to find out were skeptical. Many people were indifferent. I’m just thankful for the support system that I currently have as so many LGBT+ youth aren’t as lucky as I am to have an accepting environment.

Some people have tried to convince me that this is just a phase. Many people have told me I just haven’t found the right guy. I know it’s going to take time for people to come to terms with it. I can’t control how people react. I’m being me and hope people accept it. If they don’t, it won’t hold me back.

About Carol Hendrycks

As a communication professional I have enjoyed working for profit and non-profit organizations for over 30 years. I came to Youth Services in 2009 to volunteer and never left! It's a terrific blend of taking what I am passionate about i.e. communications and spinning my talents to benefit youth that is a most rewarding career and personal experience.
This entry was posted in Bully, Communication Tips, Family Counseling, Homeless Youth, Parenting Tips, Safe Place, SLCO, Teen Counseling, Youth Groups. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

