International Women’s Day 365!

international-womens-dayAuthored by Whitney Hardman, Former Peer Mentor and Temp Employee at Youth Services

Although today is thought to be the day we as women celebrate all of the accomplishments we’ve achieved as a group, I like to think that every day is a celebration of how far we have come. As we head off to school to pursue the education we choose and come home to houses that are a little messy because mom has been at work all day, we reach in the freezer for dinner that needs thawing and tend to little siblings. Sometimes I complain, but I also know that this is good training for my future!

If I choose to be a mother one day I know I’ll be a lot like my mother. She likes to call it having a full life. We miss her when she’s at work but we also know that she enjoys her career and that she does it for us kids, especially her girls. She is always instilling self-sufficiency and good work ethics so in the future we can always depend on ourselves. I like that about her and my dad always talks about how that is one of the most attractive traits about my mother, her desire to be educated and to achieve beyond the concept of limitation, due to her gender. She works hard and study’s long and she’s making huge strides but she also knows that as women, our work is not yet complete. She educates us about the glass ceiling and tells us to work hard because we’ll be the generation to shatter that barrier. She makes sure we understand our obligation to vote because we fought hard for that right and she talks with us about the upcoming election quite often. She is very proud that as a country we have the kind of understanding that women are just as capable of running a successful campaign, but we’re still working on making the whole country believe we can run this country!

mentoringI have no formal celebration going on or any special party to celebrate the strides we’ve made; but as I go on about my day today, and my life from here on out, I am celebrating the accomplishments other women before me have made by simply living out my dreams and appreciating my freedoms. I will walk with my head held high in whatever attire I choose and I’ll be educated and decide my future; knowing that whatever I choose is the right choice and that society does not define or limit me in any way. I will pass these values onto my little sisters, maybe my kids one day and who knows perhaps the whole country if I decide politics are something I’d like to pursue!

And for information about empowering young women, Salt Lake County Youth Services offers a Discovering Possibilities 10-week  empowerment and education group for teenage girls ages 13 to 17. Call Youth Services at 385-468-4500 and ask for Ann Schmidt.

 

 

About Carol Hendrycks

As a communication professional I have enjoyed working for profit and non-profit organizations for over 30 years. I came to Youth Services in 2009 to volunteer and never left! It's a terrific blend of taking what I am passionate about i.e. communications and spinning my talents to benefit youth that is a most rewarding career and personal experience.
This entry was posted in Communication Tips, SLCO, Success Stories, Uncategorized, Youth Groups. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to International Women’s Day 365!

  1. Chris says:

    testing the emails generated from his site to slco.org

Leave a Reply

