Things to Consider Before Running Away

Authored by JD Green, Crisis Services Program Manager

You may be thinking about running away or not. It can be a difficult decision. As a helpful next step, we encourage you to think about how you would answer these questions:teenage-runaway1
-Do I have a place to stay?
-What about school? Would I continue to get an education?
-Am I going to be gone awhile or coming back in a few days?
-What would I do for money? Shelter? Food? Transportation?
-Who can I depend on if I leave home?
-Do I have a safe, solid plan?
-What is my plan “B” in case my first plan doesn’t work?
-What have I done to make things better at home?
-What can I do to make things better at home?
-Who can help make things better at home?
-Can I talk to someone who won’t judge me before I decide?

Think about this:
teen-boy-sad2
-28% of street kids report having participated in survival sex. Survival sex is the exchange of sex for shelter, food, money and other things needed to survive.
-People who ran away as youth are 53% more likely to report having a sexually transmitted disease as an adult than non-runaways.
-Someone who runs away is 44% more likely to have health issues that prevent them from doing moderate activities (such as moving a table, pushing a vacuum cleaner, bowling, or playing golf) than someone who never ran away.
-Running away increases the likelihood that a person will not graduate from high school. -People who graduate from high school are 62.5% more likely to have a job. Adults who ran away as a youth make $8,823 less per year on average compared to people who never ran away.
-80% of street kids have attempted or completed a theft and people who runaway are 99% more likely to sell drugs as an adult than people who never ran away. Runaways are 2.72 times more likely to be arrested after age 18 than people who never ran away.

http://www.1800runaway.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/NRS-Longitudinal-study-full-report.pdf

Salt Lake County Youth Services can help, call us 24/7 at 385-468-4500

About Carol Hendrycks

As a communication professional I have enjoyed working for profit and non-profit organizations for over 30 years. I came to Youth Services in 2009 to volunteer and never left! It's a terrific blend of taking what I am passionate about i.e. communications and spinning my talents to benefit youth that is a most rewarding career and personal experience.
This entry was posted in After School Program, Bully, Communication Tips, Family Counseling, Homeless Youth, Mental Health, Mental Health, Safe Place, SLCO, Substance Abuse, Teen Counseling, therapist, Treatment, Youth Groups. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

