Milestone Transitional Living Program Announces Expansion

Authored by Mina Koplin, Milestone Transitional Living Program Manager

Salt Lake County Milestone Transitional Living Program is celebrating the addition of a second home in Sandy City with an Open House on March 30, 2016 at 10 AM. This would not have been possible without support from The Good Shepard Lutheran Church Board and Congregation, Sandy City, Journey Up Mentor Project, ShelterKids and volunteers within our community. We are honored to have Salt Lake County Mayor Ben McAdams, Pastor James Wakefield and Sandy City Councilman Chris McCandless speak at this event.

Milestone2The Milestone Program houses homeless young adults. Our mission is to provide services for young adults 18-21 who are homeless. Our goals are to provide them with safe housing; to stabilize employment, build skills, to connect them with ongoing resources and support within the community; to help them become self-sufficient so that they can start their lives and break the cycle of homelessness and dependency. We have two homes in Sandy City and a 4-plex in West Valley City which houses up to sixteen homeless young adults and two children.

Milestone offers referral services for housing assistance, one on one mentoring, life skill workshops, job training skills and connections to higher education.

Milestone3Last year, the Milestone Program had the opportunity to serve 26 young adults and 5 children. One of these young adults was Antonio. When Antonio was ask how the Milestone Program had changed his life he reported, “Well let’s see. One, it gave me a place where I can sleep. Two it made me stop doing drugs. I mean when I was out there all I was doing was drugs and I hated every second of my life and I wanted to give up. Then moving into a place where I knew people actually care made me feel safe and at home. It has taught me how to be an adult. It  Milestone2016taught me how to do taxes and to think differently. Cydnie has been one of my greatest motivators. Beans too, he has help me get into school.  I just love how friendly everyone is. I think that is good enough.” Antonio was in Milestone for almost a year. He has since moved out successfully, is currently employed full-time and is living in an apartment with his friends in Sandy City.  It is truly a privilege to be a part of a program that helps young adults make positive changes in their lives.

For more information about Milestone Transitional Living Program please contact Mina Koplin at 385-468-4541 or contact Salt Lake County Youth Services at 385-468-4500.

About Carol Hendrycks

As a communication professional I have enjoyed working for profit and non-profit organizations for over 30 years. I came to Youth Services in 2009 to volunteer and never left! It's a terrific blend of taking what I am passionate about i.e. communications and spinning my talents to benefit youth that is a most rewarding career and personal experience.
This entry was posted in Donors and Nonprofits, Homeless Youth, Mental Health, Mental Health, Safe Place, SLCO, Success Stories, therapist, Treatment, Volunteers and Boards, Youth Groups. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

